jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

‘Brand New Topographics’

‘New topographics’ was an American exhibition curated by William Jenkins at the International Museum of Photography in 1975. The photographer were predominantly of ‘Man Altered Landscapes’.

Induction Task

I was given a map of the university campus with certain areas circled, which was designed to help me and my peers get to know our way around the uni. Along side the map I was also given a list of photographers and a quote each one had said,in which I was supposed to respond to in a certain area that was circled on the map.

When I was given the task I felt slightly overwhelmed as there was a fair few photographers I hadn’t heard of, therefore I went to the library to research the photographers that I hadn’t heard of as well as the ones I did, Using books as my first source of research, was new to me because normally the internet is my first port of call.

I have selected a few of my images and a few of the quotes to post below.

Eliot Erwitt- ‘I wasn’t imposing my presence on anyone,..which is very important for a would-be journalist. I stayed back. Always let people be themselves.’

For my image I went to the cathedral, where a group talk was taking place. I adopted the approach Erwitt took by standing back and letting people be themselves. I used my zoom lens to get closer to the group without imposing my presence.

When i look at this image may eye is immediately drawn the the women in the center the surrounding people are framing her. My eye get slightly distracted by the women in the front right as she is out of focus.

Minor White-‘ Let the subject generate it own photographs. Become a camera.’

Like the image above I took this in the cathedral, where a talk was taking place, I was looking around when I noticed these three people who’s expressions show how amerced in the talk they had become.

I’ve converted this image to black and white ,as I felt that the original version did not have the same effect.

Nan Goldin-‘ The complete disregard for the camera’s presence indicates its complete saturation in there lives.The subject neither notices nor seems to care that someone has to be invited into their private moment.’

Nan Goldin often photographs people when they are unaware and off guard, therefore i used my zoom lens to get closer to the gentleman in this photo without making him uncomfortable and aware of my presence.

August Sander-‘I hate nothing more than sugary photographs with tricks,poses and effects.So allow me to be honest and tell the truth about our age and its people.’

This image was taken near to the student center. The contrast between the cool tones of the buildings and sky and the warm tones of the bottom of the sky and the digger caught my eye. This is the original images with no manipulation.

Yoosef Karsh-‘Photography is to me,more than a means of expression,more than my particular profession- it is a way of life.And is i were asked to choose one word which holds the key to my work I would select ‘light’-for light is my language and it is international, readily understood by any person of any race.’

I took this image at the Hub in the evening so that the light would illuminate the steps,I have converted the image to black and white as I feel the contrast is more visible.The quote above is only half of the original quote, but I have used the part i pulled out as inspiration, to look at how a different light source plays a part in the image.

Jan Groover – ‘You have to follow your nose…to have a mental attitude about what you feel good about and yearn for in a picture.Being able to say “I like it” or “I don’t like it”.

What I gathered from the quote is to know what you want the photographe to look like before you take the photo, and have the confidence to speak your honest opinion about your own work.

I am really happy with the outcome of this photo as I wanted the contrast of the bright yellow pillars and orange windows to have a strong contrast against the dark grey tones of the grey pavement and building.

Summary of the task

At first when I received the task I felt overwhelmed by it , but after getting stuck into taking the photographs I started to feel more relaxed, however I found some of the locations on the map fairly dull and uninspiring to photograph, this may have been due to the time of day I went.

One comment on “‘Brand New Topographics’

  1. Bernadette Oakes
    September 29, 2012

    There are some really great photos here. I am impressed with the way you have captured the essence of each photographer.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 27, 2012 by in Personal Professional Development and tagged .
