jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

Assignment 1 – Going Candid

My project losely touches on street photography , I remembered an online book I was recommended by on of my tutors at college. It is called ‘Going Candid’ by Thomas Leuthard. The ebook goes through his processes and explains the equipment that he would use and when is the right situation to use it.

One of the tips he gives is to start without a camera, this may seem strange for a photographer but I think it’s a good idea as you can train your eye into seeing what would make a good photograph. I have noticed that since applying this to the way I work, that when I walk around town I start to picture moments that I see happening.

This to me is the most useful part of this book for me as it help me to gain the confidence to ask people if I can take their portraits. The informal nature of the book makes it feel as if you are receiving advice from a tutor.

(http://book.85mm.ch/GoingCandid.pdf)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 30, 2012 by in Developing and Understanding Photographic Practice.
