jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

Christmas Task – Photographing My Day

Before the end of last term, I was given a small brief to complete over the Christmas holidays, below is the brief that I  was given.

“If I could tell the story in words I wouldn’t lugg a camera “ Lewis Hind

Building on the disciplines already developed, working with analogue technologies in 150MC, over the next term, 151MC will be looking at developing a creative digital practice, supported by an efficient digital workflow. During the term you will be given skills instruction to support your technical development and academic lectures and seminars to support your understanding of where digital practice is currently situated.

Mark out December 27th in your diary. Your task is to digitally record the day in a series of 10 digital images to present to the group early next term. Your brief is to document the day but you will need to select your narrative within that day. A narrative has a beginning, middle and end so think about how you can distil your narrative into 10 images. Think of what you are going to do that day and plan how you are going to document it. You will need to present this to the group in the first week back.

Points to think about

What is your narrative?
How would you choose to depict an entire day?

Would you choose the highlights?

What needs to be left in and what should be excluded?

What might be interesting to share? 

If the date was up to me I would have chosen a diferrent day as usually I don’t do anything the day after boxing day, but fortunately this year I was going down to  my nanas in Hertfordshire.

I started to think about the possible things I could photograph. I knew I wanted to photograph part of it involving the journey as the journey is two and a half hours by car. Apart from that I had no real idea of what was gonna happen that day.There was a possibility that I would be seeing family. Therefore I waited until I knew what was happing. I was clear that the 10 photographs had to have a clear beginning and end.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

Fortunately all of my family decided to congregate at my nanas so there was plenty of things and conversations going on to look into.

I decided to start off with a photograph of my diary as it sets the story for the day , then the middle photographs show my family arriving and getting together and playing games, talking like we only saw each other yesterday. For the seventh picture I chose to take this with Photo Booth on my Mac, as I spent most of the afternoon with my younger cousins trying to entertain them and they had wanted to go on my laptop, therefore I made use of the camera.

The two last photos show the day winding down, ending with a photograph of my nana asleep in her chair, as sleeping naturally symbolises the end to a day.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 7, 2013 by in Creative Digital Practice.
