jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

Assignment 1- Celebrities Against Excessive Photoshopping

In recent year photo manipulation has received negative responses from both viewers and celebrities, in some cases this has led to some celebrities refusing to have their photos retouched, this is in support of the AMA (American Medical Association), as the AMA had decided to “take a stand against rampant photo retouching , declaring the practise to be detrimental to your health.”

The celebrities that have took stand include: Keria Knightley, Brad Pitt, Andy Roddick, Kim Kardashian, Jessica Simpson and Britney Spears.

In April 2010, Britney Spears agreed to have a un  Photoshopped image of herself releases against a digitally altered image.It is said her motivation to do so was to “highlight the pressure exerted on women to look ‘perfect’.

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 13.39.00

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 13.29.56

http://www.popcrunch.com/keira-knightley-says-no-to-photoshop-bust-in-pirates-of-the-caribbean/

This poster is from King Arthur in 2004, Knightley was shocked to see that her breasts had been made larger, she said “those certainly aren’t mine”. With this she refused to let the promotion poster of her be heavily retouched for At World’s End.

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 13.30.26

http://bumpshack.com/2007/05/26/andy-roddick-speaks-out-on-doctored-mag-cover/

INFORMATION GATHERED FROM THE LINK ABOVE.

“The radical Photoshop arms race came to light last week on the Web site TMZ, which also carried the news that Roddick admitted he was quite surprised when he spied himself on the cover.

Aside from the serious bulk, he noted that a birthmark on his right arm had disappeared.

“I spent the last few weeks in Austin, Texas, really focused on my training and getting back into shape – but I’m pretty sure I’m not as fit as the Men’s Fitness cover suggests,” Roddick wrote on his blog, according to TMZ.

“Little did I know I have 22-inch guns and a disappearing birth mark on my right arm. I saw the cover for the first time when I landed after Rome [tournament]. It was pretty funny.

“I walked by the newsstand in the airport and did a total double take. I can barely figure out how to work the red-eye tool on my digital camera. Whoever did this has mad skills.”

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 13.30.06

When researching this image I found a blog post on Kim Kardashians own blog which reads:

Hey guys,

So everyone has been putting up these pics from Complex Magazine showing the comparison of the original un-photoshopped photo that mistakenly was put up on complex.com. This blog even went to the trouble to make an animation of the before and after.

Complex later replaced the pic with the photoshopped version, causing all of this drama. But you know what, who cares!

So what: I have a little cellulite. What curvy girl doesn’t!?

How many people do you think are photoshopped? It happens all the time!

At the same time as this Complex shoot, I was gearing up for my fitness DVD and you should see my thighs now!!! Haha!

This all motivates me to stay in the gym because my goal this year has been to get in better shape and tone up! Hard work pays off!

I’m proud of my body and my curves and this picture coming out is probably helpful for everyone to see that just because I am on the cover of a magazine doesn’t mean I’m perfect.

You can check out more behind-the-scenes pics from the shoot right here. And they’re not retouched!

 XO,  Kim

http://kimkardashian.celebuzz.com/2009/03/25/yes_i_am_complex/

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 13.31.53

Jessica Simpson not only speaks out against excessive photoshopping, but she is involved in a campaign called ‘A Beautiful Me’ which teaches teens to embrace their inner beauty. Practising what she preaches she had a whole spread in Marie Claire magazine where she was photographed with no make-up and no photoshopping

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2013 by in Creative Digital Practice.
