jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

Interesting uses of light in photography

This term I am focusing on the module 152MC, which is working with light, as a starter to the module I was given a task to do over Easter. I was asked to research a minimum of 10 images within photography/painting or other areas that I feel are appropriate, and to articulate why I find them interesting.

For many years now I have been a follower of My Boudoir as Nicola who runs My Boudoir is like family to me. I have had the pleasure to observe some of her shoots. I have selected a few of her images of which I like the lighting she has used.

http://www.facebook.com/MyBoudoirUK

Screen Shot 2013-04-15 at 17.53.59

The lighting used for this image was natural lighting from the window, Which has given the image just enough light to show details of the womens body but it isn’t too in your face. The high contrast of the image excentuates  the curves of the body giving a sex appeal, however the greys and whites as well as the lace in the image gives it back the softness.

Screen Shot 2013-04-15 at 17.44.13

Like the image before Nicola has created a high contrast black and white image this time using artificial light. Nicola doesn’t use  fancy studio lighting, she uses lights from b&q mainly used by builders as the lights are harsher for the sort of photographs she wants to produce. The way the body has been lit is fairly secretive as you don’t see a lot of the body, The light skims her face and breasts, which suggest a certain amount of seductiveness with out it being so obvious.

Screen Shot 2013-04-15 at 16.42.53

This image is by Nigel Barker during the competition Americas Next Top Model. each contestant was given two hand held lights which they were to use to light themselves in the image to flatter their angles and make them stand out. Not all of the outcomes were successful. I feel this was a successful as the two lights Alison is holding flatter her face and make her stand out from her surroundings as its all dark.

Screen Shot 2013-04-15 at 17.03.10

This image is by Mike Rosenthal, again taken during an Americas Next Top Model competition. I was attracted to this lighting during the programme as i hadn’t seen it before. The model were suspended on a see through platform covered in water which they were to lay down on. The lights were above the models which also had coloured gels on, Rosenthal was underneath the platform looking up. This set up has produced a silhouette effect, the coloured gels has created a nice background to the photograph.

Screen Shot 2013-04-15 at 17.38.50

http://www.landseaandsky.co.uk/cumbria-landscape-photgraphy/

The combination of the sun and the photographers camera setting has created a visually pleasing landscape image. The contrast in the clouds has made it even more dramatic as you don’t usually see the clouds like this. Although it is dramatic I feel the coppery tones has softened it up.

Screen Shot 2013-04-16 at 00.38.44

This is one of my own images that I took at my local fun fair in Sandbach when it came to town. In college I had just been introduced to light trails so I thought the perfect opportunity to practise this as the are many lights at the fair. I used a slow shutter setting at about 1 second which left the shutter open to create the trails. I felt this was my strongest image from that particular shoot.

Screen Shot 2013-04-16 at 00.47.55

This is another one of my images that I took in france. I used natural lighting from the sun behind the statue to create this silhouette. I feel that the images has worked as you can’t really  tell that its a statue and not a human.

Screen Shot 2013-04-16 at 00.56.19

http://www.breakingthelight.net/2011/06/13/dancer-in-the-dark-strobist-multi-flash-shoot

This photograph uses a technique called multi flash. For this a tripod, flash units and a long shutter speed of a good few seconds is needed. once the shutter is released set off the flash after every movement until the shutter closes again. I find techniques like this interesting as its not often seen but can be very effective.

Screen Shot 2013-04-16 at 01.02.03

I love the lighting used on the photo of Rankin (www.rankin.com). the lighting is simple yet effecting. I would say that one light has been used to light the face and create the stark contrast between the mid tones and the black, swell as contouring the face.

Screen Shot 2013-04-16 at 01.09.47

http://lightpaintingphotography.com/light-painting-artist/featured-artist-2/jason-d-page/

This image is stunning the use of extra light using coloured gels to light the plants has made it (in my opinion) into a work of art. The use of different tones make me look at the photo more than I would a photo that uses slightly more ‘regular’ effects.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2013 by in Working With Light and tagged , , .
