jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

Task One – Manual

For task one I am required to create a manual the manual doesn’t have to be a certain way its what ever is best for you.

To start off with I researched so different types of instruction manual that work and don’t work for me .

see bellow

http://www.corbis.readymech.com/templates/localizations/en/WPCDC.pdf

This is a template for a pinhole camera complete with instructions, in my opinion it is a bad manual as the instructions are very vague, and doesn’t say where things are supposed to be slot into it make you guess. whilst reading on the the website that each pinhole camera should take around an hour to make I found it took me around 5 hours for me to make, although I know I am not the best at building things I never have been, but It shouldn’t have taken that long

Below is a picture of the camera i made

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 15.27.29

Recipe Books

I have found two examples of recipe book that work and don’t work for me

Student Cookbook – Nosh

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 15.52.58

This cookbook sty;e works for me the ingredients are clearly set out with understandable measurements. The method for making the dish is set out in point in list form which makes it easy for me to read.

Jamie Oliver’s Ministry of Food

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 15.53.32

The way this has been set out doesn’t work for me as each individual step isn’t very clear as it is set out in paragraph form. I have used this book many a time to cook for my family and countless times I have missed out steps.

For my manual I want the steps to be very clear to see. I respond best to bullet points, with double line spacing as often when i’m reading a book for example I loose my place on a line I often start reading a completely new line meant the story doesn’t make sense, however with the extra line spacing I am less likely to do so.

I decided to keep my manual simple in its layout, with bullet pointed lists where I can, and use many images , as images say it clearer than how I word things.

On parts that I though needed a step by step guide I have used mainly photographs with a small amount of text to go along with it.

Click on the link below to view my complete manual:

MANUAL updated 1

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 19.04.41

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 19.02.06

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 20, 2013 by in Working With Light.
