jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

Re Thinking A task

For another of the summer tasks was to re think one of our previous tasks from last year. I have decided to look at 151MC, assignment 2. Which was to work with Premiere Pro to make a show reel. Bellow is the brief.

“151MC Creative digital practice
Assignment 2
The grade will be 25% of your final grade.
“The capacity of photographs to evoke rather than tell, to suggest rather than explain,
make them alluring material for the historian or the anthropologies or the art historian,
who would pluck a single picture from a large collection and use it to narrate his or her
own stories. But such stories may or may not have anything to do with the original
narrative context of the photograph, the intent of the curator, or the ways in which it was
used by the original audience.”
Martha Sandweiss
Digital photography currently sits in a very diverse field, it is quite common for
practioners to be making moving images (a photo film) as well as still images.
This assignment is designed to add to your pre-existing photographic skills and
introduce how digital technology can open up new forms of visual
representation.
Using the technical and creative skills acquired when making your show reel
during the skills instruction workshop with Bex’s, you are required to make a 3-5
minute photofilm,which examines and challenges the idea of representation. NB
Sandweiss’s quote and consider how you can creatively and depict one the
themes below in an interesting and poetic way.
A successful small business
Personal hobbies -the need for a balanced work life balance
An inspirational person
A personal obsession
As well as your film you will need to present your research and progress of your
project on your blog. Chart the development of your ideas, your research. Your
script and how it relates to other contemporary practioners working in the same
way.
Practical advice
I am sure Bexs will have already told you but sequencing for filming is different
than taking stills photographs and requires much more planning.
Plan your film before your start, and if it helps, script your film and shoot to
script. Remember you need a lot of film footage/found data within film footage
to make a film.Write yourself a proposal to clarify your ideas.
Be realistic and think of an achievableway to make your film.
Who are the character/s and can they give you the access you need?
Do you have permission to shoot in a particular location?
All this points should be clarified before you start making your film.You will need to factor in the use of equipment when making your film. Pre-book
your equipment and remember to share with it with your friends and colleagues.
Submission
The marking criteria for this module includes evidencing your research and
preparation for the film, critical analysis of your film and demonstrating an
understanding of where you work sits historically and within a contemporary
photographic practice. You will be able to demonstrate development of your
ideas in a reflectively written blog.
You will need to hand in your finished film on disk at reception in ET building on
March 8th by 4pm, along with a coversheet (NB coversheets can be downloaded
from the 151MC moodle homepage) and your archived blog. You will also need
to upload your video onto the CU vimeo channel for a class viewing Tuesday
March 12th. “

When I first did this project I wasn’t happy with the outcome of my video because I had chose to show one of my friends hobbies, but I hadn’t thought about what should be in the video. I had asked Nathan which were okay but I hadn’t thought to introduce him to the viewer.

If I were to re do this task with I would:

  • Film the footage differently- Do shorter clips of filming so its easier to cut together more interesting pieces. along with the audio, I should have done shorter clips along with each bit of the video.
  • Take photos as well to add into the video so that I have some high quality images to use.

Over summer I wanted to get used to Premiere Pro therefor I decided I would compile all of the photographs together that I got from my cousins wedding in June as well as some photos from my 3 uncles and make a photo film that I can give to my cousin as a wedding present. Making the video took me over 2 month due to lack of organisation between my uncles and myself, and also I wanted to find the pieces of music that Emma walked down the aisle to.

I am very pleased with the outcome of the video though the only thing that bothers me slightly is the change of quality in photos throughout the video, but that couldn’t be help and they were from various types of cameras.

Below are some of my photographs from the day.

DSC_0367

DSC_0371

DSC_0375

This is my final video that I made:

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 29, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
