jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

6th November – Winter studio shoot – Studio refresher.

As it had been a while since I had worked in the studio since I hadn’t used it since the end of first year I was keen to get into the studio again and refresh my knowledge.

Myself and a peer booked out the studio out for a few hours. Before going into the studio I had to decide what sort of shoot I wanted to do. As the weather was getting colder I decided on a winter styled shoot. I researched on Pintrest the night before so that I would have an idea of how I wanted the images to be posed.

 

When booking out the equipment I had to think what would be suitable, in terms of lighting, I wanted to have a strong light on the face, the soft boxes in the studio don’t give a particularly strong light as they diffuse the light. I booked out the beauty dish as this is a very strong light for the face and I used the soft boxes to light the background. Also before going into the studio I had to complete a risk assessment form which was used for my own benefit so that I could identify potential risks and eliminate them before I started the shoot. Which looked like this.

Screen Shot 2014-05-01 at 09.32.34 Screen Shot 2014-05-01 at 11.40.57 Screen Shot 2014-05-01 at 13.10.38

 

Shooting

When getting into the studio and collecting the equipment I had booked out I went back over my risk assessment and put the safety measures into place.  Whilst working I had open pintrest and all the images I had saved for inspiration so that I could refer to them whilst working and so that I could show my model what the look I was going for was like which would help her as I often struggle with how I give directions which is something I am going to work on whilst doing this module.

The set up

IMG_7174

 

This is how I set you the studio. I used the beauty dish in front of the models face and two soft boxes on a fairly low power on the backdrop to bleach out any creases and dirt marks. Through out the shoot my set up would vary slightly depending on the shot I was producing, using the soft-boxes to eliminate and unwanted shadows on the face.

Contact Sheet

Screen Shot 2014-05-01 at 13.20.42 Screen Shot 2014-05-01 at 13.20.59 Screen Shot 2014-05-01 at 13.21.11

Props

As it was November and was cold Kerrie and myself were already wearing our props. As we were going for the winter look we used our hats scarfs and coats in the photos. In and ideal world we would have liked to be outside in a snowy woods somewhere nice and scenic however no snow and no close woods that we could get to so I opted for close up head shots using are winter coats to style the photos which worked perfectly.

Edits

These photos photos didn’t need a lot of editing at all as Kerrie had very good skin with hardly any blemishes. I used Photoshop to make a few colour corrections. On a few of the Photos I used a portrait editing software called Portrait Professional, which is a very quick way of editing head shots.

below are my edits.

Screen Shot 2014-05-02 at 17.16.35 Screen Shot 2014-05-02 at 17.16.50 Screen Shot 2014-05-02 at 17.16.59

IMG_7222_pp

I felt the whole shoot when very well as Kerrie and myself have known each other almost 11 years so we are very comfortable in each others company and know how we each other works which helped when I was getting stuck for ideas. However at some point during this module I will need to push myself out of my own comfort zone of only working with friends and work with people I have never met before.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 2, 2014 by in 201mc.
