jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

Make up shoots with Tarandeep MUA (2 days ) 24th jan – 26th march

Whist scrolling through my Facebook newsfeed over easter I noticed on a page I follow “Spotted:Coventry University” someone had posted a message:

Screen Shot 2014-05-06 at 19.56.27

When I saw this I took a chance and messaged Taran- MUA,

Screen Shot 2014-05-06 at 20.00.54 Screen Shot 2014-05-06 at 20.01.01 Screen Shot 2014-05-06 at 20.01.14 Screen Shot 2014-05-06 at 20.01.22 Screen Shot 2014-05-06 at 20.01.29 Screen Shot 2014-05-06 at 20.01.36

 

The use of social media has allowed me to contact people that I have never met before, which it is how it will be in industry.

As when I originally contacted Taran I was at home for christmas therefore I couldn’t arrange to meet straight away but I kept in contact via Facebook until I was back in Coventry. When I was back we arranged to meet to talk through ideas. However this ever this meeting fell through.

24th January

On this shoot I arrived in the studio earlier than Taran so I could get a basic set up as I wasn’t fully aware of the type of shots she would want or the sort of look she was going to be going for.

When taran arrived at the studio i discussed with her what she wanted so I could set up the studio for shooting.

This shoot was my first experience of working with make up artists and models. At first I found it difficult to explain to the models how I wanted them to stand. As I knew what I wanted but I struggled to explain ti therefore i found my demonstrating.

I had 2 models with two different looks that day. Both models has different skin colours therefore my lighting set ups changed slightly according to who I was photographing.

The first model I  photographed was really comfortable in front of the camera therefore I found it really easy to photographer her however the other girl was nervous so I had to make her feel more comfortable and explain to her in more simpler terms.

I was very pleased with the outcomes from this shoot. after the shoot I shared the unedited photo with Taran for her to pic out which ones she wanted editing.

I took a few days to edit the photos to how I wanted them to be, as I was working on a new editing technic that I wasn’t very familiar with the editing process took a lot longer than I wanted it to as I was constantly referring back to youtube tutorials.

 

 

Taran was very please with the edits and asked me if I could retouch some photos she had taken her self of the make up she had done, and also she asked wether I could come and take photographs at a make up competition she was taking part in,unfortunately a I was un available to do so as I was at work but I was flattered to be asked.

From this shoot I have had models approach me asking to work with me after seeing the photo. Unfortunately I have contacted this particular model a number of times with dates I can work with him but he has never confirmed a date which a shame as I was looking forward to working with a male model as this is something completely new to me .

26th march

I had decided that I wanted do a masquerade beauty shoot after getting the mask i contacted Taran to find a date where she would be free to do the make up for the shoot. I also contacted Isha from my previous shoot.

I contacted them both on Facebook to discuss what  my idea for the shoot sending them mood boards so they have visuals on what it should be.

Screen Shot 2014-05-09 at 21.31.14

 

 

During the shoot I was left very frustrated as I didn’t feel the shoot was going to plan as I couldn’t get what I  wanted out of the model. even though Isha had modeled for me before and she was great she let me down on this occasion as she didn’t listen to direction and was constantly bickering with Taran the make up artist.

I didn’t want to let on that I was getting frustrated so I said that we would take a short 10 minute break and start again.

Despite not feeling like I had got any good shots when I was doing the shoot I was surprised at the shots I had got, the pictures aren’t perfect but I am happy with them.

This shoot taught me how to remain calm and professional even when things aren’t going to plan.

Since these shoots I have been trying to arrange more shoots with Taran unfortunately the studio has never been free on a time that will work for both of us, but we are both planning to shoot together after this module.

I have built up trust with Taran therefore she will ask me to do work for her as well as I can ask her to do work for me.

Screen Shot 2014-05-11 at 23.30.30 Screen Shot 2014-05-11 at 23.30.37 Screen Shot 2014-05-11 at 23.30.43 Screen Shot 2014-05-11 at 23.30.50

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2014 by in 201mc.
