jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

Assisting and modelling ( 7 days)

During this module I was determined to assist a few photographers as I feel this is how I learn best by observing, and helping other photographers. I often feel once I find a set up that works for me I keep using that.

Assisting Aaron (4th December &31st January)

When Aaron posted on Facebook that he needed some assistants I jumped at the chance to assist Aaron as his style of photography is very conceptual which my style of photography is very different to therefore it was a great opportunity to observe they way he thinks about what he does and why. The first shoot I help out by holding the props for the shoot. I was interested in how he had decided to light the photograph, he only used one softbox where as I like to use 3 lights. When shooting I was very intrigued to see how the images would come out as the shoot was based around mirrors. Bellow is one of the outcomes by Aaron:

aaron 2

 

The second shoot I assisted Aaron with was a very fun shoot involving throwing a lot of confetti. This shoot required a lot more direction between Arron, becky (assistant) and myself, as the timing had to be right.

Assisting Charli: (20th February, 27th march, 7th May)

The first time I assisted Charli was for her picbod work which was a very messy shoot involving flour. My role was to throw the flour how charli wanted it. As she was the model in all the photos, myself and the other assistants had to listen to exactly what she wanted in order to get the photos she wanted.

The next two times I assisted Charli were for some family shoots, each shoot was very different in how the child reacted to the situation and the lighting. Child shoots is something I have always wanted to do however I have always been to nervous to do them. I feel that now after watching Charli do these shoots it is something I can definatly do.

Assisting Kerrie ( March)

I assisted Kerrie in photographing charli in the studio as she felt she wanted to more comfortable in the studio, I help setting up the lighting as well as sitting in for lighting test shots.

Modelling for Kerrie

Modelling for kerrie allowed me to experience something completely out of my comfort zone as I don’t like being in front of the camera, but the whole experience allowed me to sympathise with the models that I photograph as I know not everyone feels comfortable, I can now use that experience to comfort models and direct in a simplified way.

 

All these experiences have made me a better photographer and I can apply  the skills learnt in my own photography.

Screen Shot 2014-05-11 at 23.33.47 Screen Shot 2014-05-11 at 23.33.53 Screen Shot 2014-05-11 at 23.34.47 Screen Shot 2014-05-11 at 23.34.53 Screen Shot 2014-05-11 at 23.34.59 Screen Shot 2014-05-11 at 23.35.18 Screen Shot 2014-05-11 at 23.35.23

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 11, 2014 by in 201mc.
