jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

#Phonar – Post Photographic Portrait – Ideas

When thinking about what I wanted to create for my final phonar piece I thought of an audio visual piece that would make the viewer experience distraction that I feel whilst reading due to various parts of dyslexia. There are many things I could show to the viewer in a literal sense, but this wouldn’t necessarily do what I want it to as it’s impossible make the viewer feel what I feel or what others with dyslexia do, I can only put them in that head space.

When I am sat at my desk trying to concentrate on reading or writing, what ever it may be, I find my biggest distraction is surrounding noises ( people walking around the house, music etc) as well as the add distractions caused by my dyslexia ( words sinking jiggling on the page, words that completely disappear.)

I have enjoyed using the use of sound within my work in previous phonar tasks, which is something that I would like to explore further.

Upon taking my idea to the next phonar session I was curious to see if any work had been created based on dyslexia. As its not easy to show through the medium of photography.

I came across a book my Sam Barclay, called “I wonder what it’s like to be dyslexic”. Barclay was a graphic design student particularly interested in typography, he himself suffers from dyslexia, which although he said there is attempt at providing tools to help suffers there is little done to give those around them a greater understanding of what it is like to be dyslexic.

More about his work can be found via this link: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2491013/Dyslexia-sufferer-Sam-Barclays-book-I-wonder-whats-like-dyslexic.html

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 15, 2014 by in #Phonar and tagged , , , .
