jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

#Phonar – Post photographic portrait – Thoughts – Problem/solution/change

“Your decisions throughout  this process should build upon and further develop the work we’ve begun in creative workshop and throughout the lecture series. This process should be evidenced explicitly and succinctly on your blog as well  ( a 500 word reflective summary would do the trick).”

Whilst reflecting on Phonar and the previous weekly tasks, I found that I responded more to the ones that were personal to me, for example the transformative story telling. I originally wanted to think along the lines of the family photo album, as for my symposium I am looking into the area of family photography, however, I felt I could do more than this. I wanted to create something that had personal context to me and that few others could relate to. In addition, I wanted my work to be something that would inspire change.

I have known since I was around seven years old that I am Dyslexic. I didn’t find school easy as both my primary school and high school didn’t want to accept that I had dyslexia and struggle, as heaven forbid I may bring my high schools grades down.

In Wednesday’s Phonar class Jonathan raised the thoughts: What is the problem? What is the solution? What will happen if I do not produce this work?

I found these very easy to answer.

What is the problem?

Dyslexia is an invisible disability, where something in the brain did not develop how it should have done. Although, dyslexia is becoming more widely known and picked up on, I still feel it’s not understood by people without dyslexia, but how could it be? Dyslexia doesn’t present itself in the same way in each person with it. People with it see and process things differently.

I have often heard people use the phrase “I’m having a dyslexic day” as a excuse when they get something wrong, but have no true understanding of what it actually feels like to be dyslexic. Dyslexia is a disability that I feel isn’t often viewed as one.

What is the solution?

I plan to create an audio visual piece which allows people without dyslexia to see some aspects of what it is like.

What will not happen if this work is not created?

If I do not create this work the attitude towards dyslexia will stay the same, there would be no change for the better.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 16, 2014 by in #Phonar and tagged , .
