jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

#Phonar – Post photographic portrait – Updated Ideas.

Last night I was sat on youtube listening to some music where I fell upon the eastenders theme tune which had been reversed. Sitting in the living room whilst listening to this. I noticed her start to listen with a puzzled look on her face as she didn’t know what I was listening to which sparked the idea if taking something familiar and making it unfamiliar, but still holding a slight of recognition, so that it creates a confusion to the viewer, as does parts of my condition.

I took this idea to my next Phonar session an posed it to Jonathan, Who suggested this could be done with the uses of well known music. This idea sparked a reaction in me as I am able to read music and feel relatively comfortable reading and playing piano music. Seeing as I am trying to put people without dyslexia in the headspace of those with it, I felt using something I am comfortable with and using that to in still un comfort in others appealed to me.(in the nicest way possible).

As part of some of my peers post photographic portrait works, they are using Laura Ritchies cello piece. I felt I wanted to get the thoughts of someone who has a background in music, therefore I decided to email her. emails can be found bellow:

Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 01.19.13Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 01.19.21Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 01.19.29Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 01.19.37

 

I am very greatfull to have had Laura take the time to help me in collating idea, She made me realise that there was more I can do with sound rather than just reversing the music.

I jumped straight onto the site that laura had given me to find music scores, to find original scores from well known composers, ( http://imslp.org/wiki/)I was looking for handwritten scores in particular as they can be fairly difficult to read. Music is not something that everyone can read therefore I like the idea of sing this as I can look at a page of writing and it be a jumbled mess just has the hand written scores. I decided quickly that the music I would use would be a piano piece from Beetoven Sonata 21. I found when listening to this sonata, that It had highs and low which I could relate to in terms of reading.Whilst on this site I was lucky enough find both a recording and and the written score for this piece.

Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 01.30.25

I was fairly confident as to what I could do for the sound part of my piece. However I became concerned that showing a section from a score would do what I want it to do, as some people can read music therefore the piece would not work in the same way for them.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 21, 2014 by in #Phonar and tagged , , .
