jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

#phonar – Post photographic portrait – Final Piece.

Today I took my final piece into uni with me to gather slightly more feedback on whether what I had done had worked or not. I went in with just the sound clip as I was. I gave my peers a set of headphones to listen to the piece as it works best when you are fully emerged in it. When watching my colleagues I feel like I was watching Robbie Coopers piece immersion

.

Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 08.04.03

 

After a few of them had watched it I asked whether they felt it needs an explanation. They said no, but because they knew the topic they understood it, however for other who don’t know what I have done it may need explaining slightly.

I didn’t want an explanation at the beginning because that would spoon-fed the viewer and tell them what they should feel. I felt if i put text at the end it would allow the viewer to make their own assumptions first. I’m not one for reading a lot of words so I felt what ever text I used should be short and to the point.

I had ask friends what the piece made them feel. Most said confused, sad, angry and overwhelmed.

I decided to use the following:

confused

fustrated

 

However these two words alone would not explain why I have done it. Therefore I decided to end on the following:

 

now you know

I felt that asking the viewer questions would allow the viewer to question what they had just heard more effectively.

Please find below my final piece:

I can see this piece in an exhibition space where viewers are in an isolated booth using headphones to listen to it. As without earphone I don’t feel it creates the head space I am after. I feel that what I have created at this stage of development is perfect for the phonar audience, using the notion of photography for the ears, although the piece isn’t a visual one, it allows the viewer to begin to imagine what a sufferer sees and thinks.

6 comments on “#phonar – Post photographic portrait – Final Piece.

  1. Imogen Wall
    December 3, 2014

    A lot of thought has gone into the presentation of this piece, which is crucial to get your narrative across.

  2. jennylucyswerds
    December 3, 2014

    Really great work. I love how you took the viewer on a journey, the music was eerie and the noise became overwhelming, messing up my breathing. You cleverly put the audience in your shoes without us initially realising.

  3. Pingback: #phonar – Lo reflection | jessicaoakes

  4. EmilieTaylor
    December 4, 2014

    I love this Jess 🙂

  5. rebeccawoodall
    December 10, 2014

    Having seen this project develop I was so impressed with the outcome – it was hard to know how it would take shape at first but when I heard it I knew exactly what you were trying to convey. It’s great to know I have taken a step towards feeling the confusion and frustration that you feel. I definitely think sound was the right choice for this project and I like the way you felt strong enough in your sound piece to not be tempted to add visuals that may have taken away from it.
    Would love to see this project extended further as you have referred to as an exhibition piece or seeing the reactions from the people who have watched it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 2, 2014 by in #Phonar and tagged , .
