jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

Fmp image development cling film

From my original idea based on dyslexia I was using idea which have a physical barrier element to the image wheather that be the kaliescope or 3d imaging, although these ideas werent particularly working I have decided to carry on the idea of the physical barrier by using cling film. This will create a physical barrier. I decided to write on the cling film a mixture of words and letters, this creates the barrier of words which represents struggles whilst reading.

I have made three attempts at this particular idea.

The first time I shot in my bedroom with one single light with a bed sheet acting as a diffuser.

The first shoot I did with this idea I only shot a few photographs as I felt I had one that would work.

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 03.38.57

mock up muted tones This images is the one I felt worked the best, however As you can see the edges of the cling film i plan to crop it in. The expression on my face has been lost with the above crop.

mock up muted tones a3

I have cooled the tones down and cropped in the image.

 

When receiving feedback from peers on this image some felt that I may have been to made up. therefore i tried reshooting the  images, where I was wearing the make up I would to uni.

This time I asked some peers to hold the cling film and almost pull it over me however I felt that this made it harder for me to create a ‘struggle’ as i felt no struggle.

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 03.46.14 Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 03.46.21 Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 03.46.27

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 04.01.57 Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 04.02.02 Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 04.02.08

 

I have also attempted to recreate this using perspex as I was unsure on the refelctions on the cling film.

 

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 03.48.17

Using the perspex really did not work as the image was far to flat.

After continuing to shoot this idea. i have gone back to the first shoot and re edit the image, i first liked.

 

clingfilmI gathered some feedback from a friend who is dyslexic and didn’t know much about the project and when she first saw this she said that defines it for her too. meaning that I had achieved what I set out to do

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2015 by in Final Major Project.
