jessicaoakes

Framing The World Through My Photographs

fmp Revised proposal

­­Coventry University BA (Hons) Photography

Working with Photography Practice in Context: 352MC                                                 

PROJECT PROPOSAL

Student:   Jessica oakes – revised proposal for topic shift.                                                                              Date: 29/04/15

 

 

1.TOPIC / TREATMENT & AUDIENCE

 

Working title : dɪsˈlɛksɪə

 

Dyslexia is a specific learning difficulty that primarily affects language. There are many different kinds of dyslexia: visual dyslexics have difficulty reading words or writing letters the correct way round (they may mistake ‘b’ for ‘d’, for example) whereas people with auditory dyslexia have trouble processing sounds and getting phonemes in the correct sequence when they try to write things down. Other difficulties associated with dyslexia include short-term memory problems, a weak attention span, and poor organisational skills.

 

There is a common misconception that people with dyslexia are stupid this is not the case. Many dyslexics can have very high IQs. I have come across articles in the past, which have branded dyslexia as “a middle class way to hide stupidity”. It comes across to me that the journalists haven’t researched into what dyslexia is. As David Campbell stated in his interview for phonar, a good body of work is one that understands its context.

 

Previously through this project I wanted to create a visual response to what I had tried to achieve in a previous module, which was to create a sound piece in which non dyslexics can experience an aspect of what it may be like to have it. However, I found creating a visual response to putting the audience in that place, to be problematic as it became to many of the ideas became to literal in showing what people may experience. I therefore decided to bring the project close and look at my own experiences.

 

 

2. SKILLS AND RESOURCE REQUIREMENTS

Identify the skills you think you will need to develop, and the resources you envisage being required to enable a successful resolution of your idea within the given time and theme.

 

 

·      As this project has evolved on more of a personal level, I will be using my dyslexia report as a case study.

·      To form a greater understanding on dyslexia rather than only what I have experienced. I will do this by using ‘clinical based books’, tv documentaries and short films. As David Campbell said a good piece of work is one that understands its context.

·      It is important that I use artist research for inspiration and gaining knowledge, on the work I am creating.

·      I have planned to use digital, as I feel analogue wouldn’t suit the images I am planning.

·      Before sending of my final piece it would be advisable for me to have some test prints do to ensure I will get the best quality for my final piece.

 

3. TIMETABLE

Plan how you will use the study time allocated for this Module. This would include dates for tutorials, seminars, workshops, shooting, processing, printing, editing, mounting etc. (You are advised to build in a one-week buffer zone – i.e. have everything ready a week before the deadline, as something always goes wrong..!)

 

Week beginning 12th jan –

·       Identify the topic in which I intend to explore, and write a proposal.

·       Buy the relevant tools I need for this module ie sketchbooks, notebooks etc

·       Begin researching

Week beginning 19th jan –

·       Progress with research

·       Beging to plan how I intend to make my photographic responses.

Week beginning 26th jan-

·       Beging to photograph, analyis the production to inform further decisions.

·       Continue to research.

·       Bloging to ensure I keep up to date, use the blog as a basis for my findings

Week beginning 2 feb –

·       Meet with the relevant tutor to further dicuss my ideas

Week beginning 9th feb –

·       Advanced significantly with my body of work \

·       Continue to research

16th feb –

·       Make head way with body of work and post production

·       Continue to blog about the work I am creating.

23rd feb –

·       As this is the week of the symposium I will make allownece in order to allow the event to run smoothly.

2nd march

·       Now that symposium with have ended my full focus will be on production of the body of work

·       Research

9th march

·       Further consultaion with module tutors

 

 

16th march

·       Make preparation for the easter holidays make sure I have approved any extended bookings before hand

·       Take any books out of the liabary.

23rd march –

·       Continue research

·       Production of the body of work

·       Start to research into presentation methods

6th april –

·       Continue adapting my work within post production

·       Continue to file my findings on my blog

13th april

·       Further research

·       Begin to wrap up shooting photos in order to get the best from post production and order print samples and prints where needed.

4th May 20, 2015

·       Start to make final decisions of what I would like to present

·       Decide if I am going to free range and how this will effect my presentation.

11 may

·       Have prints send off for production

·       Complie my blog

·       Reflective report , seek advice on how this should be written

18 MAY – DEADLINE WEEK

·       Ensure that I have my prints ready to hand in.

·       Blog exported and blog booked and filed on a disc ready for hand in on the 20th .

 

4. OBJECTIVES AND OUTCOMES

With reference to the Assessment Requirements (see below) and Intended Learning Outcomes for this Module, specify what you intend to achieve by the end of this project and try and summarize what you hope to have learnt. This section should also include a sentence describing how you want your audience to respond to your work – how, ideally it would be appreciated and understood.

 

 

I hoped to have gained a greater understanding of what dyslexia is and how I can achieve creative outcomes by taking inspiration from my weaknesses. As well as creating a body of work in which I can be proud of. I hoped to have achieved what I set out to do “My intentions for this work were to use my strengths to display the barriers in which many others and I face. I do not dyslexia define who I am, however, I found that creating this work has helped me understand and work around the barriers that I let stop me in the past.” The work should begin to understand how dyslexia may effect somebody.

 

Remember the Assessment Requirements:

  • A Body of Work appropriately formatted and presented. Produced in relation to the Project Proposal, the creation of The Body of Work should be realized through a rigorous process of critical research and creative experimentation. The final outcome should evidence ability to produce lens-based work of the highest technical quality, conceptual rigor and critical awareness. What constitutes a ‘Body of Work’ is purposefully defined loosely here. This should be self-determined in consultation with the module tutors and be concretely addressed in the Project Proposal. For example, it may be a series of 20 images, a video-work, or a sound and image installation. Whatever form the Body of Work takes, it should be conceptually resonant with the topic explored and represented in the work.
  • Evidence of Research and Development, a Blog Booker summary of your blog, along with a paper copy and a digital copy of your updated Project Proposal. This should clearly illustrate the development of your strategy for making work and the research, development and experimentation underpinning it. The Research and Development may be comprised of blog entries, workbook, contact sheets, work-prints, tests etc.
  • A Reflective Report no longer than 800 words. Through this piece of writing, the strengths and weaknesses of the methods used to create the final work should be considered. In addition, this critical analysis should consider how the work may function within the context(s) it was created for and how it relates to contemporary photographic practice. The development of this piece of writing should evolve through consultation with the module tutors. Draft and redraft, and bring these drafts to tutorials for feedback.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 29, 2015 by in Final Major Project.
